Home > Family > Home Battles of the Teenage Kind

Home Battles of the Teenage Kind


scream and shout

Image by mdanys via Flickr

 

If you felt the earth tremble on its axis Tuesday night, don’t panic.  My 13-year old daughter was having the biggest tantrum of her existence.  I think perhaps her head might have done “the exorcist 360″ when she was telling me what a bad mother I was and how I live to ruin her life.  The catalyst you ask?  I dared to take her laptop for ONE NIGHT because she continues to burp out loud like an obnoxious frat boy.  

We went through a similar, less extreme meltdown not too long ago but she worked me over so good I walked away feeling guilty and depressed with my parenting skills.  After much reflection, I decided I was soaking in too much of her teenage angst and negativity.  I was determined to hold firm on the next round and assume the Teflon Don persona.  It ain’t stickin!  The hard part: being sensitive and understanding to the world of teenage drama, while still being strong on rules and consequences.  When I managed to do this on Tuesday, I discovered the process in which the whole thing came about:  a trigger, a meltdown (emotional dump of every frustration under the sun), a testing of boundaries and rules, a release (the “come to Jesus” moment when the walls come crumbling down and the real tears flow) and then at last, a recognition (apology) and reconcile.  

I seriously felt like I earned some sort of medal for courage under fire, but the real test is sticking to it and following through on the next one; yes – it will happen again, I have no doubt.  If you are a proud parent of the teenage-kind, I hope my experience and said thoughts might provide a small bit of insight… and that oh yes, we parents can navigate the vast fickle and turbulent ocean of teenage hormones!    

Categories: Family Tags: , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

